Health Care Coalitions

Kentucky’s 10 Health Care Coalitions (HCC) meet monthly or bi-monthly to develop an all-hazards approach to emergencies.  These disaster situations may include tornadoes, floods, power outages, pandemic flu, chemical attack and/or spills and other national or regional events that effect the operations of healthcare organizations including hospitals and nursing facilities.


HCC members include regional and local emergency managers, hospital management, health planners, as well as representatives from mental health, long term care, Emergency Medical Services, Veterans Administration, Fire Service, and schools of public health and social work, among others. The range of membership suggests the variety of response and planning agencies that work together on a regular basis to coordinate efforts and share learning. Participating members are required to be knowledgeable about preparedness and be certified in the National Incident Management System (NIMS) Incident Command System (ICS).

The functions of the Kentucky Health Care Coalitions include:

  • To provide a forum for the healthcare community to network with one another and other response agencies at a county, regional and state level to promote emergency preparedness.
  • To coordinate and improve the delivery of healthcare emergency response services.
  • To foster communication between local, regional and state entities on community-wide emergency planning and response.
  • To ensure overall readiness through coordination of community–wide training and exercises.
  • To promote preparedness in the healthcare community through standardized practices and integration with other response partners.

Coalitions and Coordinators

Kentucky Regional Hospital Preparedness Program (HPP) Coalitions

Map of Kentucky with Hospital Preparedness Program (HPP) Regions

Updated August 3, 2020

Region Counties
Region 1 Ballard, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Crittenden, Fulton, Graves, Hickman, Livingston, Lyon, Marshall, McCracken, Trigg
Region 2 Christian, Daviess, Hancock, Henderson, Hopkins, McLean, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Todd, Union, Webster
Region 3 Bullitt, Breckenridge, Grayson, Hardin, Henry, Jefferson, Larue, Marion, Nelson,Oldham, Shelby, Spencer, Trimble, Washington
Region 4 Allen, Barren, Butler, Edmonson, Hart, Logan, Metcalfe, Monroe, Simpson, Warren
Region 5 Anderson, Boyle, Bourbon, Clark, Estill, Franklin, Garrard, Harrison, Jessamine, Lincoln, Mercer, Nicholas, Powell, Scott, Woodford
Region 6 Boone, Bracken, Campbell, Carrol, Gallatin, Grant, Kenton, Owen, Pendleton
Region 7 Bath, Boyd, Carter, Elliott, Fleming, Greenup, Lewis, Mason, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Robertson, Rowan
Region 8 Breathitt, Floyd, Johnson, Knott, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Wolfe
Region 9 Bell, Clay, Harlan, Knox, Jackson, Laurel, Rockcastle, Whitley
Region 10 Adair, Casey, Clinton, Cumberland, Green, McCreary, Pulaski, Russell, Taylor, Wayne

Updated August 3, 2020

Meeting information is added/updated as it is received.  Please check with the HPP Coordinator to verify the meeting date(s) and location(s).

See Meeting Schedules